The Fritz Haber Center

The Fritz Haber Center for Molecular Dynamics was established in 1981 by the Minerva Foundation of the Max Planck Society and The Hebrew University.

It was named after Fritz Haber the renowned and controversial German chemist of Jewish ancestry who has made one of the greatest scientific discoveries of the 20th century, namely the Haber-Bosch process for the producition of ammonia from air. This invention is literatly feeding, every day, the 8 billion human beings living on this planet. 

The purpose of the center was to support and develop theoretical scientific research in the field of molecular reaction dynamics in Israel and to strengthen the scientific collaboration with German scientists in these fields. Since its inauguration, the center became a well–known establishment of molecular dynamics research in the scientific world with strong influence on chemical and materials sciences. 

The original focus of the research of the center emphasized molecular reaction dynamics, then at the forefront of chemical research. Over the years the field of Molecular Dynamics has evolved considerably and remains central to any fundamental physical/chemical process in matter. The research done at the Fritz Haber Center has also evolved, indeed, expanded and flourished. The goal is still development of cutting edge molecular dynamics methods and applications but the fields of focus and scientific questions changed and with them the methods, approximations and general attitudes. The fields of activities by the different researchers form a significant sample of activities in the Molecular Dynamics world: quantum coherent control, charge transfer excitations, attosecond dynamics, coarse grained dynamics, quantum electronic dynamics in nanocrystals, dynamics in biophysical systems, proton-transfer dynamics in water environments and proton wires in proteins.

For full details see our annual reports

Click here for Alumni of the center

Directors of the Center:
1981 Professor R. D. Levine (Founding Director) 
1989 Professor R. B. Gerber 
1991 Professor R. Kosloff 
1998 Professor A. Ben-Shaul 
2006 Professor R. Baer 

Chairs of the Beirat:
1981 Professor E. Schlag 
1996 Professor G. Comsa 
2000 Professor W. Domcke. 
2010 Professor G. Meijer